Fear.

Published by

on

I have a to-do list, I have a plan. I know what to do and I trust my vision and how I plan to make it reality. But instead of going ahead with full charge, I’m staring at the screen. Sitting and staring at nothing. Zoned out, unable to move forward.

What is this? Fear.

I’m not entirely sure what of, but it’s fear. It could be fear of failure, fear of the unknown. But I’m able to recognise it as fear. How does one move forward from here?

The side of my brain that is permanently reserved for all things fitness immediately offers an answer: action created energy. The saying is something I know in connection to running. When you don’t feel like working out, 9 out 10 times dragging yourself to your workout and starting gives you that extra push. My best workouts were on days where I didn’t feel like working out. The moment I started, I felt strong, energised and like I really wanted to be there. Having dedicated myself to writing, I can say it works the same. But it’s that bit more difficult, because unlike at a workout, I can’t block-out my brain but have to begin “moving” with the little voice of self-doubt acting as the background noise. But if I manage to move passed that and get to a first paragraph, the same thing happens as with working out. Action creates energy.